2.6
15 reviews
Other Misc. Autos:
  • Average: 3.8
  • High: 5.0
OnStar

Read 15 Reviews

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
OnStar
 
2.6

(based on 15 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (3)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (2)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (5)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (4)

33%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

No Pros

Cons

No Cons

Best Uses

No Best Uses
    • Affiliation:
    • I received a sample (4)

Most Liked Positive Review

 

More valuable than I imagined

This is an edit of my original review.
I was in a car accident on 1/21/2012 where I was hit by another vehicle at high speed and my Vue went airborne and...Read complete review

This is an edit of my original review.
I was in a car accident on 1/21/2012 where I was hit by another vehicle at high speed and my Vue went airborne and landed on it's roof. Onstar literally responded before my vehicle rested at a stop. Although I was extremely panicked the rep tried to calm me down as bystanders tried to get to me and help me out of my car. By the time I was helped out of my car (a bystander broke out of of the rear windows that had shattered so he could climb in and help guide me out) the EMTs and Police were there (less than 3 minutes I would guesstimate). I walked away from this accident with two feelings. That I owed my life to how well built my Saturn was and that I never want a vehicle without OnStar again.

I received OnStar service on my new 2008 Saturn Vue and intially thought that once the 1 year free service expired I wouldn't bother keeping it. It is now almost time for it to expire and I can't imagine getting rid of it! Many people look at the commercials and think that it's only for helping you if you find yourself in an accident or emergency situation...or that it's simply an overpriced navigation service. I know that's what I thought. But I soon found out that it was much more. I have used the Directions and Connections services numerous times and it has been amazing. I have also used the red button not for my own accident but one that I witnessed...I was on a long stretch of the highway that I could not have been able to give a detailed explanation as to our exact location, but OnStar was able to locate us and have emergency vehicles on site quickly. My only complaint is the phone service. Although the service itself is great, I think the regular cost to add addtional minutes is high (100 mins = $39.99) and expire if not used in 1 year unless you purchase more minutes. Initial purchases were only $14.99. I don't use the phone often since I have a cell phone so the cost is not worth it to me. I still have 200 minutes that are going to expire soon if I don't purchase more, but it took me almost a year to use 60 of the initial 260 that I had. The phone service does seem to have better reception in areas where my cell may not be as strong so in certain situations it would definitely be great to have if your cell phone can't get a signal.

Overall I think Onstar is a great service. Although I think it's worht it to keep it I do think it would be great if it were cheaper and the phone service had a better alternative. (If you have Verizon you can add it to your account as a family share plan and use minutes that way...this option may be better for some, but for me it was not worth it).

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Summarize this product in one sentence.

I have a 2011 GMC Terrain which I bought New. I got a virtually free intro offer form on star and used the Turn by turn nav often and the car phone. At the...Read complete review

I have a 2011 GMC Terrain which I bought New. I got a virtually free intro offer form on star and used the Turn by turn nav often and the car phone. At the end of the trial I dropped the car phone because it was so expensive but continued to use the Turn by turn until May 2012. Again I canceled it because it was to expensive and used Google's free turn by turn on my android instead.

Today is the 18 of October 2012 and my wife showed me our joint Master Card bill to illustrate how low it was and my jaw nearly hit the floor when I saw $28 for Onstar on it 6 months after I had called them to cancel the service. That adds up to $168 in total I was charge after cancelling the service.

I called Onstar to protest and they denied that I had catcalled the service. You tell me why I would stop using a service that I was paying for?

I did get the last 2 payments back. I spoke to 3 different people during telephone call and caught all of them in contradicting each other. To cut a long story short I was left feeling certain that when you call this company to cancel, they tell you that they have canceled but in fact they continue to bill you as a matter of course until you notice months later that they are still billing you. Who scrutinizes their CC bills line by line? Not me!

While I was using OnStar I liked it but it is very, very expensive compared to the alternative of an android smart phone.

If it wasn't for the billing after cancelation I would give it a 3. If I hadn't somewhat liked it, I would have given it a 1 because of the billing after cancelation experience.

I have heard about this kind of experience before but this is the first time that this has ever happened to me personally and I had an over whelming conviction that it was contrived and believe that it is the policy in there call center.

Hopefully some disgruntled employee will blow the whistle some day.


I thought

Reviewed by 15 customers

Displaying reviews 1-10

Back to top

Previous | Next »

(1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

 
3.0

They Keep Billing After You Cancel!

By 

from Simpsonville, SC

Pros

  • Turn By Turn Did Work

Cons

  • They Keep On Billing You

Best Uses

  • Directions
  • Unlock

Comments about OnStar:

I got a six month trial after I bought a new Chevrolet. In order to get the trial offer you have to sign that it will continue after the trial unless you call in and cancel. I called before it ended an was told it would not continue. I just check my credit card statement and found where for the last 4 months they have been charging me. I calle3 and was told they don't have any record of me calling in to cancel. They said they would refund me the last two months and would start a case to see if I could get the other 2 months back. It happened on another GM car I had. Another reviewer had the same thing happen to him for 6 months. BEWARE!!!! If you cancel get a confirmation number so you can prove what you are saying. (When I used the service it did work okay! It is a good service if you need and want it.)

  • Affiliation:
  • I received a sample

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

(1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

 
1.0

Buyer Beware!!!

By 

from USA

Comments about OnStar:

Paid to have OnStar for 5 years. The first time I actually needed the service (I locked my keys in the car with my 18 month old), they were unable to unlock the doors. It turns out that the unit it my car was not working. After speaking to representatives at OnStar, they told me it was my responsibility to make sure everything worked. What a joke.

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

 
1.0

Complete Frustration

By 

from USA

Comments about OnStar:

So glad to see some people are really satisfied with onstar.
I recently retired from selling gm vehicles for the last 20 years, and found dealing with onstar over all kinds of problems, starting with the initial call in for hookup to be the greatest stress that i encountered in all my years in the business. here in Canada the welcome call is handled by people whose main job seems to be capturing youre credit card number. The majority of hook ups took more than one call and fourty five min. each time.
Our family has owned a new 08 malibu, a 2010, ponitac wave, an 09 silverado, a 2012 equinox, and a 2014 sierra. all with onstar
The equinox finally sort of started working with all functions about a month before our free trial ended, and was never able to load trip directionsestimatr we have spent over three hours trying to get it going. It is the worst part of the equinox.
My note to GM , AGAIN, is make the system work or get rid of it.
Good cars.. bad onstar.....no kidding! no joke! in some cars it does not work.

  • Affiliation:
  • I received a sample

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

(3 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

 
2.0

Summarize this product in one sentence.

Comments about OnStar:

When OnStar is connected by a dealership employee things go smoothly. However the OnStar website is totally non-functional, despite the federal Govt. pouring billions of taxpayer $$ into GM. Simply put, the OnStar concept is very good, however the implementation is below abysmally inept.

  • Affiliation:
  • I received a sample

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

(6 of 6 customers found this review helpful)

 
2.0

Summarize this product in one sentence.

By 

from USA

Comments about OnStar:

I have a 2011 GMC Terrain which I bought New. I got a virtually free intro offer form on star and used the Turn by turn nav often and the car phone. At the end of the trial I dropped the car phone because it was so expensive but continued to use the Turn by turn until May 2012. Again I canceled it because it was to expensive and used Google's free turn by turn on my android instead.

Today is the 18 of October 2012 and my wife showed me our joint Master Card bill to illustrate how low it was and my jaw nearly hit the floor when I saw $28 for Onstar on it 6 months after I had called them to cancel the service. That adds up to $168 in total I was charge after cancelling the service.

I called Onstar to protest and they denied that I had catcalled the service. You tell me why I would stop using a service that I was paying for?

I did get the last 2 payments back. I spoke to 3 different people during telephone call and caught all of them in contradicting each other. To cut a long story short I was left feeling certain that when you call this company to cancel, they tell you that they have canceled but in fact they continue to bill you as a matter of course until you notice months later that they are still billing you. Who scrutinizes their CC bills line by line? Not me!

While I was using OnStar I liked it but it is very, very expensive compared to the alternative of an android smart phone.

If it wasn't for the billing after cancelation I would give it a 3. If I hadn't somewhat liked it, I would have given it a 1 because of the billing after cancelation experience.

I have heard about this kind of experience before but this is the first time that this has ever happened to me personally and I had an over whelming conviction that it was contrived and believe that it is the policy in there call center.

Hopefully some disgruntled employee will blow the whistle some day.


I thought

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

(6 of 6 customers found this review helpful)

 
2.0

Did NOT work for us.....

Comments about OnStar:

Dont buy Onstar in general... Waste of money... We thought the Onstar would be good to have with our Pontiac Vibe and my family, We figured it would give an early warning to emergency organizations in case of an accident. Then came the day... The first accident in over 25 years, a totalled car via the insurance company, Luckily no injuries, but... NO ONSTAR HELP!!! not a word, Now I wonder if it really does work in accidents or if they only work in major accidents... Needless to say... I WILL NOT SUBSCRIBE AGAIN..... I dont believe it works..

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

(7 of 7 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

More valuable than I imagined

By 

from Columbus, GA

Comments about OnStar:

This is an edit of my original review.
I was in a car accident on 1/21/2012 where I was hit by another vehicle at high speed and my Vue went airborne and landed on it's roof. Onstar literally responded before my vehicle rested at a stop. Although I was extremely panicked the rep tried to calm me down as bystanders tried to get to me and help me out of my car. By the time I was helped out of my car (a bystander broke out of of the rear windows that had shattered so he could climb in and help guide me out) the EMTs and Police were there (less than 3 minutes I would guesstimate). I walked away from this accident with two feelings. That I owed my life to how well built my Saturn was and that I never want a vehicle without OnStar again.

I received OnStar service on my new 2008 Saturn Vue and intially thought that once the 1 year free service expired I wouldn't bother keeping it. It is now almost time for it to expire and I can't imagine getting rid of it! Many people look at the commercials and think that it's only for helping you if you find yourself in an accident or emergency situation...or that it's simply an overpriced navigation service. I know that's what I thought. But I soon found out that it was much more. I have used the Directions and Connections services numerous times and it has been amazing. I have also used the red button not for my own accident but one that I witnessed...I was on a long stretch of the highway that I could not have been able to give a detailed explanation as to our exact location, but OnStar was able to locate us and have emergency vehicles on site quickly. My only complaint is the phone service. Although the service itself is great, I think the regular cost to add addtional minutes is high (100 mins = $39.99) and expire if not used in 1 year unless you purchase more minutes. Initial purchases were only $14.99. I don't use the phone often since I have a cell phone so the cost is not worth it to me. I still have 200 minutes that are going to expire soon if I don't purchase more, but it took me almost a year to use 60 of the initial 260 that I had. The phone service does seem to have better reception in areas where my cell may not be as strong so in certain situations it would definitely be great to have if your cell phone can't get a signal.

Overall I think Onstar is a great service. Although I think it's worht it to keep it I do think it would be great if it were cheaper and the phone service had a better alternative. (If you have Verizon you can add it to your account as a family share plan and use minutes that way...this option may be better for some, but for me it was not worth it).

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

(6 of 6 customers found this review helpful)

 
1.0

very poor and very expensive plan

By 

from USA

Comments about OnStar:

Purchased a new Chevrolet Avalanche in Dec 2011, had to set up my 6 months free onstar account by giving them a credit card number. at the end of the 6 months they started charging me $28 per month. I never used it, except that one time to set it up, the dealer insisted I do that. I had OnStar once in the past - also free for 6 months and never used it, mainly because it did not work and the dealer could not fix it. However this go round I gave them the CC number and paid $10 for phone minutes that I did not want. When I saw the charge on my CC I called and asked what was going on and was told I signed up for the continuous service, which of course I did not - i never signed anything from OnStar! I asked to cancel the service and refund my $28. Of course they would not do that, even though I called at the beginning of the month it was for. All you have to do it put OnStar reviews in google and you will find lots of very dissatisfied customers! I am now one of them and will certainly start looking at other automobile companies in the future when I want to buy a new car. I hope OnStar and GM enjoy my $28, it will be the last money they get from me.

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

(7 of 7 customers found this review helpful)

 
1.0

rip off

By 

from USA

Comments about OnStar:

Over $28 a month! Not worth it! Id rather stick to my smart phone for navigation and save $300 a yr. Maybe if the price dropped in half I would reconsider but for now I will not renew after my free trial.

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

(4 of 4 customers found this review helpful)

 
2.0

get AAA instead. Too few "counselors" to handle their volume.

By 

from USA

Comments about OnStar:

We had a collision, and the car was totaled. Not only did Onstar NOT come on at or after impact, but when I pushed the button to call for help, I was on hold so long, I finally gave up, pulled out my AAA card, and called them instead. Needless to say, I've cancelled my account.

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

Displaying reviews 1-10

Back to top

Previous | Next »