4.4
15 reviews
Other Digital Cameras:
  • Average: 4.4
  • High: 5.0
Brand:
Canon
Canon - Power Shot A470 Digital Camera

Read 15 Reviews

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
Canon - Power Shot A470 Digital Camera
 
4.4

(based on 15 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (7)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (7)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

93%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Most Liked Positive Review

 

Fabulous Hand Size Digital Camera

I purchased this Canon PowerShot A470 digital camera in November 2008 so that I would have a new camera for my son's college graduation in December 2008.  After receiving the camera it was...Read complete review

I purchased this Canon PowerShot A470 digital camera in November 2008 so that I would have a new camera for my son's college graduation in December 2008.  After receiving the camera it was just a matter of taking the camera out of the box, inserting the batteries and the SD card, which are included and I was off pointing and clicking!  This camera is easy to use.  There are multiple functions and shooting modes.  This camera is small enough to fit into my pocket or purse.  The camera fits the length of my hand measuring approximately 4 1/8"W x 2 1/8"H X 1 5/8"D.  The 2.5" LCD screen is large enough to review photos after they have been taken.  If for some reason you do not like the picture it is easy to delete and retake the picture.  I rarely recall having to delete a picture because of the quality.  It was nice to be able to zoom in on my son as he walked across the stage and received his BS degree.  The camera boosts a 3.4X optical zoom, 4X digital zoom and 14X total zoom.  With face detection technology you can not go wrong.  The only con that I see to owning this digital camera is the fact that it does not have any internal memory so you must have a SD card inserted into the camera before you can take pictures or record using the AVI movie mode with sound.  Again this is a great small camera that takes great quality pictures and is easy to use.  I would highly recommend this digital camera for others to use.

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Loved at first but am starting to hate it.

I hate spending a lot of digital cameras only for the simple fact that they go out of date so fast. I bought this one less than a year ago with the 7.1 mega...Read complete review

I hate spending a lot of digital cameras only for the simple fact that they go out of date so fast. I bought this one less than a year ago with the 7.1 mega pixels and now they have 10 mega pixels out. I loved that it took pictures really fast. There wasn't a delay and you got the picture you actually wanted. Now it is very slow and I most often than not miss my intended picture. It also eats batteries like crazy. Next time I will only go with a camera that comes with a rechargeable battery. I even bought 3 different kinds of home rechargeable ones but those were worse than then regular batteries. 

It has a lot of great features on the camera for different shots. It also takes short video great. You can zoom in and out while in video mood which is a nice feature that I have used a lot. 

I constantly take pictures of my kids so next time I will go with something a bit more durable and longer lasting. I had hoped to be able to get a year out of it but I find myself more and more frustrated with it so will have to start the process of looking for something all over agin. I also feel the picture quality is startng to decline also. At first they were crisp and clean but now they tend to be the quality of a very cheap camera. 

 

 

Reviewed by 15 customers

Displaying reviews 1-10

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 
4.0

Cannon power shot is great for its price

By 

from Wichita, KS

Comments about Canon - Power Shot A470 Digital Camera:

This is a great little camera and so afordable for a busy family. It stands up to normal wear and tear very well and is super easy to learn to use. It interfaces with both Windows and Linux easily and takes both video and still photos. It has a long zoom and the photo quality is incredible. I've taken photos with my camera that, when blown up to 8 x 10, people have thought were professionally done. The menu is easy to follow and there are manual settings as well as an automatic setting. You can switch modes (indoor, snow, beach, kids, etc) quickly and there's also a setting for black and white and one for sepia tone so you don't have to wait till your pictures are on the computer to change them. I love this camera and will continue to buy Cannons.

Durability
we are really hard on it and it hasn't died yet

  • Image Quality:
  •  
  • Performance:
  •  
  • Ease of Use:
  •  
  • Durability:
  •  
  • Battery Life:
  •  
  • Portability:
  •  

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

 
3.0

Loved at first but am starting to hate it.

By 

from Stratford, IA

Comments about Canon - Power Shot A470 Digital Camera:

I hate spending a lot of digital cameras only for the simple fact that they go out of date so fast. I bought this one less than a year ago with the 7.1 mega pixels and now they have 10 mega pixels out. I loved that it took pictures really fast. There wasn't a delay and you got the picture you actually wanted. Now it is very slow and I most often than not miss my intended picture. It also eats batteries like crazy. Next time I will only go with a camera that comes with a rechargeable battery. I even bought 3 different kinds of home rechargeable ones but those were worse than then regular batteries. 

It has a lot of great features on the camera for different shots. It also takes short video great. You can zoom in and out while in video mood which is a nice feature that I have used a lot. 

I constantly take pictures of my kids so next time I will go with something a bit more durable and longer lasting. I had hoped to be able to get a year out of it but I find myself more and more frustrated with it so will have to start the process of looking for something all over agin. I also feel the picture quality is startng to decline also. At first they were crisp and clean but now they tend to be the quality of a very cheap camera. 

 

 

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

 
5.0

The Canon Power Shot A470 digital camera is awesome!

By 

from Utica, NY

Comments about Canon - Power Shot A470 Digital Camera:

If you are looking for a relatively inexpensive digital camera that will give you excellent quality pics then the Power Shot A470 is the camera you need.  It's compact enough to take with you just about anywhere and the pics you can take with it are amazing.  I would definitely recommend this camera to friends and family looking for an affordable, quality digital camera.

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

 
4.0

Love this camera

By 

from Reading, MA

Comments about Canon - Power Shot A470 Digital Camera:

My husband got me this camer a year ago with his reward points from Holiday Inn hotel stays. When I first got it I had never had a digital camera in the past. I was using a camera that did panaramic shots; cant remember the name of it now. Anyhow, I used it only seldomly then. Since then, I moved and planted two gardens around my new apartment. Now I use it all of the time to take pictures of my garden and the progress of my flowers. I also used it at the Eagles concert last month. We had seats miles away from the stage but, with the zoom in features on the camera I was able to get some really good pictures and not just of the monitors; I was able to zoom right in to the people on the stage and got great shots.it comes with software that you put on your computer that lets you do all kinds of cool things with the shots off of your camera. you just plug in the usb cable to your computer and a camera window comes up and walks you through the rest. I love it.

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

 
5.0

Best camera I have had ever! Wonderful!

By 

from Star, NC

Comments about Canon - Power Shot A470 Digital Camera:

I got this Canon camera right after I had my baby. She is now two and I know I have took hundreds of pictures. I love to take photos and make scrapbooks. I would say that I am so happy that I picked this one. Its stylish, not too heavy. I enjoy the wonderful qualilty of the photos that I get off of this camera. I use to own another brand but it only lasted a year and i wanted a higher quality.. and i believe that I have found it! Very good camera for people who want to take normal photos. Yet, I have used the features it has and they have came out nicely. I used the 'snow' feature and the 'fireworks' ones. I look forward to alot more use out of this camera! My husband works at a battery factory and so I use the rechargable batteries my canon. I get alot of use with them. I also use multuple memory cards and I find its very easy to use uploading photos on my laptop. The video feature is pretty good as well.

next camera i will buy will be another canon. never going back to anything but! love my camera!

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

 
4.0

Easy to use

By 

from Branford, CT

Comments about Canon - Power Shot A470 Digital Camera:

It took me a long time to finally purchase a digital camera, and I am so glad I chose the canon powershot A470 as my first one. My kids had been trying to talk me into switching from those disposable cameras to a digital forever. Now that I have my canon powershot; I regret not buying one sooner. I love it! It's simple to use even for a technically challenged person like myself. I couldn't believe how easy it was to even shoot a video of my son's play. The picture quality is fabulous and it's such a good camera to buy without breaking the budget. I've also already mastered connecting to my PC to send pictures to friends via email and facebook. The way the camera focuses itself is such a plus for the beginner photographer such as myself. I like the way the green box centers the photo you're trying to take before the picture is actually snapped. All in all in my opinion, this camera is an excellent choice for the beginner or the pro.

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

(1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

It's the best camera I have ever owned

By 

from Virden, IL

Comments about Canon - Power Shot A470 Digital Camera:

I think that the Canon Powershot A470 is the best camera I have ever owned.  It is SO easy to use and it takes the best pictures.  There are many options on it.  I take alot of pictures at night, inside and out and they are never dark or fuzzy.  The flash on it is great.   It also has an amazing "face detect" feature on it.  The zoom is good too.  It will zoom pretty far, although the bad part of it is, when you zoom in the furthest it will go, then that is when i run into the pictures that are not clear.  So, it's kind of a downfall of when we are at school functions and I am in the bleachers, then i have to walk down to the front to get a clear picture.  The different other features it has on it is, if you are taking a picture of the sunset, you can set it so the camera knows you or taking a picture of the sunset.  It also does that for portrait,  night snapshot (which i never have to set it on that because the flash is so good for that anyway), kids & pets, Indoor, foliage, and even when you are taking pictures in the snow.   Also, another thing is that it doesnt run down your batteries that quick.  I can use this camera for about 2 days of taking pictures and videos before my "regular" batteries will even start to go dead.  I definately recommend this camera.

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

 
4.0

Awesome for starters and compact, but ready for more.

By 

from Cookeville, TN

Comments about Canon - Power Shot A470 Digital Camera:

I've had this particular camera for at least three years.  It is very compact and easy to transport.  This camera was bought for me to carry around all the time for snapshots of my four children.  It was inexpensive, yet still takes great photos.  I did purchase a larger storage disc for it.  As with any electronics, the daily toting in my purse has caused it to show wear.

The one major part that needs improvement is the "wait time" between pictures.  It seems I frequently "miss" what I'm trying to shoot because of the delayed wait time before the camera is ready to take another picture.

I also had to begin purchasing the expensive lithium batteries.  I was putting a new set in every week or so when using the regular ones.  I also had trouble using rechargeable batteries.  After I first got the camera, I even took it back to the department store thinking there was something wrong with it.  This camera is great for snapshots, but does lack some of the quicker features of larger cameras.

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

 
5.0

A great little camera!

By 

from Youngstown, OH

Comments about Canon - Power Shot A470 Digital Camera:

Hello Everyone! I own this little Canon Powershot A470 digital camera and it is just wonderful! It takes the best pictures, even if you are NOT a whiz with all the new fangled digital items on the market today! I bought this camera because of the simple ease of using it! Yes, I AM one of those who do not know or keep up with the latest trends, but, I do love taking pictures. This Canon camera has all that you will need in the way of settings and even point and shoot. It  even has settings to use while viewing fireworks! I must admit that I mostly use the AUTO setting, and recently took over 100 pictures on a trip to Mackinaw Island, Michigan. They came out great! People were telling me what a great little camera I have, and I agree! HA! It is very inexpensive, and does come in a range of colors. I chose the red. I do use the rechargeable batteries as the one thing I did find out was that the regular DURACELL or ENERGIZER ones don't work as well, and you need to change them often. Other than that, I recommend this camera to anyone who wants an easy one to use!

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

 
4.0

Wow, great camera

By 

from Rolla, MO

Comments about Canon - Power Shot A470 Digital Camera:

I bought my Canon PowerShot A470 about a year and a half ago after graduating from high school.  It is my first and only digital camera.  It was easy to learn the basic features at first and then move on to other features as I went along.  The Canon Powershot A470 has different settings for different events, such as portait, night snapshot, kids & pets, indoor, sunset, fireworks, and more.  I took some great pictures of some 4th of July fireworks with the help of the fireworks setting.  It has optical zoom to 3.4x and digital zoom to 4x.  The volume on the recordings is a little soft at the default setting, but it is very easy to turn the volume up.  The shutter lag can be a little long sometimes, but still isn't that bad.  Batteries are likely to be used up quickly, especially if you like to take a lot of pictures.  It comes with a 32 MB SD card, but I suggest also getting a card with more memory.

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

Displaying reviews 1-10

Back to top

Previous | Next »