4.4
21 reviews
Other Weight Loss Products:
  • Average: 3.9
  • High: 5.0
Brand:
Bariatric Surgery
Bariatric Surgery Surgical Procedure

Read 21 Reviews

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
Bariatric Surgery Surgical Procedure
 
4.4

(based on 21 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (11)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (7)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (3)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

90%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Most Liked Positive Review

 

It is not a miracle cure

In November of 2007 it will be 5 years since I had Gastric Bypass Surgery. Of course in the beginning it took quite a bit of getting used to, I could only eat 1...Read complete review

In November of 2007 it will be 5 years since I had Gastric Bypass Surgery. Of course in the beginning it took quite a bit of getting used to, I could only eat 1 scrambled egg and I was stuffed. But the weight was falling off rapidly and I was focused on that. Then I didscovered that I could eat small amount often, and that is where the trouble started. I started eating more, then I would vomit, then it seemed as though my stomach stretched out. Anyway, I stopped excercising as much, then hardly at all. Eating the wrong foods again became habit and about 3 yrs after surgery I had put back on about 30 lbs. to date I have put back on 50 of the 110lbs. that I lost. It almost seems that I am mentally, back where I was before the surgery. So, unless you are really ready to never eat the "Bad" foods and ways again, try other options. Any questions? I would be happy to answer.

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Bariatric Surgery only a tool not a cure.

I had bariatric surgery 3 years ago.  I had a gastric bypass.  I lost 100 lbs of 200 lbs I had to lose.  I had it done in another city...Read complete review

I had bariatric surgery 3 years ago.  I had a gastric bypass.  I lost 100 lbs of 200 lbs I had to lose.  I had it done in another city away from where I live and there was no support for me.  I have no clue what I should be eating.  They tell you not to drink sodas and eat sweets.  I am a sodaholic.  I did manage to quit for 6 months after my surgery during which time I lost the first 80 lbs of the 100 lbs I eventually lost.  I still can't eat huge meals, but find that now I'm gaining my weight back.  I do get hunger pains which the doctors said I shouldn't have.  I don't get hungry often.  Your not supposed to be able to eats sweet things without getting sick.  I don't have that problem....wish I did.  Thing is this surgery doesn't fix what is wrong in your head that makes you overeat.  If you are a food addict then you need to join overeaters annonymous.  If you simply feel hungry all the time and would benefit from a way to limit your intake then this is for you.  You still need to watch your diet and excercise.  I think I could have done better with gastric banding because if you suddenly find yourself able to eat more then they can adjust it.  Unfortunately I can't do that now.

Reviewed by 21 customers

Displaying reviews 1-10

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 
5.0

Great start to lose weight!

By 

from Elko, Nevada

Comments about Bariatric Surgery Surgical Procedure:

I have been overweight my entire life and have tried every diet you can think of. I decided in 2009 that enough was enough and met with a surgeon and decided to get bariatric surgery. I received my surgery and woke up in a lot of pain. This is a major medical surgery and a huge change for your body, it is not just some small operation, it is a lot and takes a toll on you, you will be in pain. Healing was pretty easy and within a few weeks I was back to normal. This is a major change and you have to be willing to change completely for this to work. Like anything else, diet change and mind change is a must. This is not some quick fix and should not be taken lightly. I have had to change my whole way of life, way of eating, way of thinking. I can not eat anything large anymore, I eat an extremely small portion and get full, and if I try to overeat I get very violently ill and start throwing up almost instantly. This helps to lose weight and is very effective at it, but it is something that you should really consider all the options first and make sure you can change your life and make it a long term change and not a short term thing to lose weight.

(2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Yes, I would do it all over again - it gave me back my life

By 

from Peoria, AZ

Comments about Bariatric Surgery Surgical Procedure:

I had a yo yo weight problem for years and was finally at the point of asthma, knees going, sleep apnea and a heart issue. I have to admit I was at a point I did not want to live like that anymore. It has been several years now and it was the best decision that I made. I would suggest really checking out the hospital, the doctor, everyone involved in your care. Read reviews like this and realize you won't look like you did when you were twenty but you can have a active healthy life. It requires a permanent change in your diet. Yes, you still have to watch calories, fats, etc. I no longer eat meat, no carbonated beverages and no alcoholic beverages. I went from over 300 to 140 and have been at that weight for several years. There was no down side for me only positive. I have my life back and am so grateful to the pulmonary doctor who suggested that I consider this option. YES, YES, YES, I would do it again tomorrow.

(2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

 
4.0

the hardest thing ive ever done in my life

By 

from Essex Junction, VT

Comments about Bariatric Surgery Surgical Procedure:

i had a roux-en-y gastric bypass over 5 years ago.  i have maintained a weight loss of 140 pounds.  it was extremely painful at first as with any surgery.  it was my no means easy.  i got sick at first very often til i learnt how to eat again. there was 4 week of a blenderized diet with no food being bigger than half a pea.  ive had to relearn how to eat and cook.  its a life change not quick fix but is a miracle.  i cannot eat anything high in fat or sugar or anything dairy.  if i eat starches i need to eat protein with it or it bothers me as well does raw veggies sometimes.  i would undo it for the world but its definitely not for everyone and i have to follow up with my doc for the rest of my life.  if you are morbidly obese and need help its something to talk to your doc about for sure.

(1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

 
4.0

Still worth the effort if you ask me.

By 

from Cuddebackville, NY

Comments about Bariatric Surgery Surgical Procedure:

I had the lap band surgery in November 2005 and have lost a total of 70 lbs. Although this is not as much as I had hoped for it is still enough to make me feel better physically and that is good. It took some getting used to for me because I now have protein  shakes for breakfast every day...for the rest of my life. I am still trying to lose more but at this point even if I never do I am still happy with my current success. It still takes great control to make sure you do not eat the things you are not supposed to or fall back into old habits like eating when you are not even hungry. You have to have the mindset that this is a life change and you are going to stick with it and the rest seems to fall into place.

(7 of 7 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

this surgery saved my life

By 

from Muncie, IN

Comments about Bariatric Surgery Surgical Procedure:

First of all, let me start by saying that I am not a professional or someone in the weight loss industry.  I am a 57 year old woman who is 5ft 1 & weighed 324 lbs.  I had a severe foot infection & was off my feet for over a year.  During this time I gained about 150 lbs.  I felt that I needed to do something drastic to lose weight before I suffered a heart attack or stroke.  I weighed my options very carefully as to what i wanted to do. I decided on bariatric surgery.  I checked with my doctor who recommended a surgeon.  I checked out the surgeon & got references from his patients.  I lived near a great bariatric hospital.  I had to go thru a psychiatric exam, classes with the hospital bariatric department & an extensive interview with the surgeon.  On June 20, 2006 I had my bariatric surgery.  Since then I have lost 141lbs.  This has not always been an easy road & it is a commitment you must make to yourself which includes exercise & staying on a regiment of vitamins & proper nutrition.  I know that this has changed my life.  Just remember to take baby steps.  Make sure that you check out your surgeon thoroughly, & make sure that it is a reputable bariatric hospital.  I still have a way to go but I feel I can do it.

(4 of 4 customers found this review helpful)

 
4.0

Bariatric surgery is not a quick fix but it saved my life.

By 

from Loomis, CA

Comments about Bariatric Surgery Surgical Procedure:

I had bariatric surgery 3 years ago - lost 130 pounds with a bounce back of 15 pounds.  I am healthier than I have been in years.  Bariatric surgery allowed me to retake control of my life.  I can hike, ride amusement rides, plane ride without fear of seat discomfort, feel good about my appearance and play  with my kids.  My kids are proud of me and glad that I have the energy to play physically with them.  Although there are definite downsides such as i can now only eat a small slice of pizza and I need to watch that I  get enough protien in it more than makes up for that loss in what the surgery allowed me to take back on.   I would do it again today knowing the issues I had which were few and the benefits.  It is not for everyone - you have to know that  it will be difficult to eat at all  for awhile and that when others are eating a plate load you are eating a couple spoons full.  But I can go out to dinner and eat that same meal 3 or  4  times after - just order a to go  box when you order your meal.  I now  eat what I  want for the most part  - no lamb or ham - but I only eat small amounts and I enjoy  life.  I control my food instead of my food controling me.

Pain wise - I did not feel that  it was very painful which surprized me.  However - the gas can be horrible.  Anyone know of  charcoal panties?

(4 of 4 customers found this review helpful)

 
4.0

Bariatric surgery is a wonderful tool to HELP you loose weight

By 

from Negaunee, MI

Comments about Bariatric Surgery Surgical Procedure:

I had Roux-en-Y gastric bypass surgery 7 months ago after many years of being over weight. I was 125 pounds when I got married but 8 pregnancies and 23 years later, I had hit 270 pounds! I have dieted and have been pretty active through out my life but weight just never really came off no matter what I had tried in the past. It was the hardest decision of my life, but something I felt I needed to do because I had reached the point I was in constant pain from all the extra weight pounding on my knees and back with rheumatoid arthritis besides and I wanted to be the best Mom I could and needed more energy to do that. So far I have lost around 100 pounds and I would love to loose another 40-50 pounds. I work out a minimum of 3 days a week for 1 hour a day, this isn't just sit on your couch and watch the weight fall off, you still need to work out and you watch your diet closer than you would on a normal diet. The good is that it is really hard at this point to over eat, your stomach is reduced to the size of an egg and if you over stuff it or eat the wrong foods (like greasy or high carbs), you have a lot of pain and will usually start vomiting. You need to watch your protein very carefully because if you don't get enough protein, you can loose muscle mass, damage your organs, and or loose your hair. It can be really rough to get all the protein in. You also have to make sure you take all your vitamin and mineral supplements several times a day since you don't absorb everything through food like you normally could and you have to take an antacid daily to keep your tiny stomach healthy. I would do it again and I recommend this for anyone who is severely over weight and has tried other method of loosing weight and not been successful but I do recommend learning everything you can before doing it so that you go into it knowing the benefits and the risks and make a truly informed and educated choice.

  • Affiliation:
  • I received a sample

(5 of 5 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Bariatric Surgery Surgical Procedure

By 

from Ecru, MS

Comments about Bariatric Surgery Surgical Procedure:

About a year ago I decided to have a bariatric surgery surgical procedure. I have diabetes, thyroid disease, and other health issues including mobid obesity. I tried several weight loss programs, including free weights, walking, exercise machines, Curves, diet pills, both over the counter and prescribed. Nothing seemed to work for me. Being that I have a very low metabolism, it's very hard for me to loose weight, although really easy for me to maintain the weight that I am. I can eat what ever I want, and not gain, but eat less, and not loose either.

I spoke to my regular doctor and decided that bariatric weight loss surgery was the next step. It has helped me tremendously. ALthough I haven't lost much weight, my diabetes is so much more in control, and my A1C is lower than it's ever been. I have been able to reduce my diabetic meds by one third the dosage.

The bariatric weight loss surgeries work best with exercise. If you do not exercise daily and rigorous, you may not loose the weight you wish to loose. I am allergic to things outside, so I cannot do the outside exercises, and at the time cannot go to a gym. I just do exercises that I can do in my home.

I am very proud that I got my surgery. I have lost a great amount of weight, although not as much as others report, but I have made myself much more healthy. You have to have a mindset for the surgeries. you must be willing to reduce what you eat, go more high protein, low carb, and take the appropriate amount of vitamins to make sure you do not get malnutrianed. The surgery changed my life and I am proud that I made the decision.

 
5.0

Bariatric Surgery Surgical Procedure

By 

from Osceola, AR

Comments about Bariatric Surgery Surgical Procedure:

I had the lapband first and my body was just not accepting it. My doctor went in a removed the lapband and did the Bariatric Sugery and I could not be more happy. I have followed the instructions given to me and my body has accepted this procedure without any complications. I immediately know when my stomach is full and I stop eating immediately. I have had the weight off for almost two years now and have not had any complications from the surgery. I wished I had went this way first. I would recommend this procedure to anyone who has over 50 lbs to lose.

(3 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

 
3.0

i would not recommend weight loss surgery unless u r committed

By 

from Brooklyn, NY

Comments about Bariatric Surgery Surgical Procedure:

Unless you are willing to follower thru on the diet I would not recommend weight loss surgery.

I have a friend who did the weight loss surgery and she is not losing the weight and she is still

having issues.

Even if you have Weight loss surgey you can still can weight and then become very sick.

You have to really follow thru on lossing weight when you have weight loss surgery.

You also have to be Pschologically ready and mentally ready to have weight loss surgery and if

you are not weight loss surgery is not for you.

Displaying reviews 1-10

Back to top

Previous | Next »